Can you name the ceremonial or geographic counties of England?

Can you name the ceremonial or geographic counties of England?

The counties and areas for the purposes of the lieutenancies, also referred to as the lieutenancy areas of England and informally known as ceremonial counties, are areas of England to which lord-lieutenants are appointed….Ceremonial counties of England.

Counties and areas for the purposes of the lieutenancies
Areas 3–8,611 km²
Densities 62–4,806/km²

How many counties does the British sporcle have?

Can you identify the 48 ceremonial counties of England, on this graph ‘map’ where counties are represented by nodes and borders by edges?

Can you name all 48 counties in England?

Can you name all the counties in England in 10 minutes? England has 48 Counties, all with an array of names; from Devon to Buckinghamshire and from Wiltshire to East Ridling of Yorkshire.

How many English counties can you name?

48 Counties
There Are 48 Counties In England, And I’ll Be Impressed If You Can Name 12.

What is classed as a ceremonial county?

(Britain) A definitive geographic region, not generally having direct administrative functions, but which has an appointed Lord-Lieutenant. Similar to a traditional county.

What are the 10 ceremonial counties in England?


  • Bedfordshire, including Luton.
  • Berkshire.
  • Bristol.
  • Buckinghamshire, including Milton Keynes.
  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough.
  • Cheshire, including Halton and Warrington.
  • City of London.
  • Cornwall, including Isles of Scilly.

What county is London in United Kingdom?

Greater London
London is located in the county of Greater London, an administrative area that includes 32 boroughs plus the City of London.

How many shires are there?

With a non-official definition of the Shire, there are a total of 28 Shire County in the UK. Moreover, the Shire means a management unit with more than one territory.

What is the smallest county in England?

Rutland, wedged between Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Cambridgeshire, and Northamptonshire, is the smallest county—historic or otherwise—in England. Oakham is the administrative centre.

Which counties are ceremonial?