What are the 5 main lines of latitude?

What are the 5 main lines of latitude?

Important lines of latitude:

  • the equator (0°)
  • the Tropic of Cancer (23.5° north)
  • the Tropic of Capricorn (23.5° south)
  • the Arctic circle (66.5° north)
  • the Antarctic circle (66.5° south)
  • the North Pole (90° north)
  • the South Pole (90° south)

What is the first line of latitude?

The Equator
The Equator This line of latitude is the starting point when referring to other points of the globe in terms of degrees north and degrees south.

What are the lines of latitudes?

Starting from the equator, each successive line (degree) of latitude is numbered consecutively both to the north and to the south as far as the North and South Poles. Thus, there are a maximum 90 degrees’ worth of latitude both north and south of the equator.

What are the 7 major lines of longitude?

Terms in this set (7)

  • North Pole. 90 degrees north.
  • Arctic Circle. 66.5 degrees north.
  • Tropic of Cancer. 23.5 degrees north.
  • Equator. 0 degrees.
  • Tropic of Capricorn. 23.5 degrees south.
  • antarctic circle. 66.5 degrees south.
  • south pole. 90 degrees south.

Why are there only 5 latitudes?

Answer: Of all lines of latitude drawn on the surface of the earth, only five have been named because these lines are based on the position of sun and its relation with Earth and this relation is based on two points of an year. Explanation: These lines divide Earth into important zones.

What are the 5 important latitude lines and why are they important?

Visible on a globe or map of the Earth, points on latitudes that cross over longitude lines mark specific locations on the Earth. The five major latitude lines are the equator, the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn, and the Arctic and Antarctic Circles.

What are latitudes Class 6?

Latitudes are imaginary lines that run from west to east, ranging from zero to 90 degrees. The North and South Poles are at 90 degrees from the equator. The distance from the equator to the poles is 1/4th of the circle around the earth.

Does latitude go first?

Handy tip: when giving a co-ordinate, latitude (north or south) always precedes longitude (east or west). Latitude and longitude are divided in degrees (°), minutes (‘) and seconds (“). There are 60 minutes in a degree and 60 seconds in a minute (similar to measuring time).

What are the 2 main lines of longitude?

1. Prime Meridian = Longitude 0o (Greenwich Meridian). 2. International Date Line (Longitude 180o).

Why there are 180 latitudes and 360 longitudes?

Latitude lines are comprehensive circles, with the middle at 0° and the pole at 90°. The South Pole and the North Pole have separated by 180° apart, The longitude lines cross from the North Pole to the South Pole. This is why it begins at zero and finishes at 360 longitudes.

What are the 3 types of latitude?

Technically, there are different kinds of latitude—geocentric, astronomical, and geographic (or geodetic)—but there are only minor differences between them. In most common references, geocentric latitude is implied.

Which is the biggest latitude?

The Equator is the longest circle of latitude and is the only circle of latitude which also is a great circle.

What are the five major lines of latitude?

The five major latitude lines are the equator, the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn, and the Arctic and Antarctic Circles. Sciencing_Icons_Science SCIENCE

How are lines of latitude related to the equator?

Project the Lines of Latitude diagram and invite a volunteer to point out the Equator. Ask: What’s the number next to this line? (0 degrees) Explain that locations along this line all the way around the globe are at 0 degrees latitude. Lines of latitude measure the distance north or south of the Equator.

How many imaginary lines are in a circle of latitude?

It is measured with 180 imaginary lines that form circles around the Earth east-west, parallel to the Equator. These lines are known as parallels. A circle of latitude is an imaginary ring linking all points sharing a parallel. The Equator is the line of 0 degrees latitude.

What is the line of latitude at 66.5 degrees south?

The Antarctic Circle is located at approximately 66.5 degrees south latitude, or 66.5 degrees south of the equator. This line, or circle, of latitude marks the start of the southern area known as the Antarctic . The circle consists of only one continent, Antarctica.