What order does the plot of a fictional story?

What order does the plot of a fictional story?

Exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, denouement.

What comes first exposition or rising action?

Beginning/Exposition: The opening of the story usually provides background information on the characters and setting. Rising Action: The main character (protagonist) reacts to the initiating event by taking steps to achieve a goal or resolve a problem.

Which stage is the climax of the story?

Here’s a quick and simple definition: The climax of a plot is the story’s central turning point—the moment of peak tension or conflict—which all the preceding plot developments have been leading up to.

What events happened after the exposition and before the climax?

Story Elements Review Quiz

Question Answer
End of the central conflict Resolution
All events after the climax and leading to the resolution? falling action
What is the sequence of events involving characters and a central conflict called? plot
Don’t judge a book by its cover is an example of ___________ theme

What are the 5 stages of a story?

Under Freytag’s pyramid, the plot of a story consists of five parts:

  • Exposition (originally called introduction)
  • Rising action (rise)
  • Climax.
  • Falling action (return or fall)
  • Catastrophe, denouement, resolution, or revelation.

What is an example of falling action in a story?

Examples of Falling Action At the story’s most climactic moment – Cinderella’s turn to try the slipper – the story reaches its highest tension. The prince’s recognition of Cinderella begins the story’s falling action, leading to its resolution: their wedding and happily ever after.

How do you find the rising action of a story?

In other words, the rising action can also be identified by paying attention to how the audience feels during the story. As long as the feeling of tension or suspense associated with the central conflict continues to increase, the action is still rising. The rising action ends with the climax.

What is the resolution in a story plot?

Resolution. The resolution is the end of the story. It occurs after the CLIMAX. It is when you learn what happens to the characters after the CONFLICT is resolved.

What are the 5 parts of a plot diagram?

Generally speaking, every plot has these five elements in this order:

  • Exposition/introduction.
  • Rising action.
  • Climax/turning point.
  • Falling action.
  • Resolution/denouement.

What comes first character or plot?

Why Plot vs Character is Irrelevant aka Character is Plot When we initially formulate the idea for a story, most writers don’t tend to start with both character and plot. Either way, once you go past that initial idea, you’ll need to develop both plot and character to make your story work.

What is the main plot of a story?

In a literary work, film, story or other narrative, the plot is the sequence of events where each affects the next one through the principle of cause-and-effect. The causal events of a plot can be thought of as a series of events linked by the connector “and so”. Plot is similar in meaning to the term storyline.

What is the correct order of the plot diagram?

Usually the order of events is: exposition, rising action, climax, falling action, and resolution.

What are the five stages of a story?

What 2 pieces make up the exposition in a story?

1) Exposition (introduction) – Beginning of the story; characters, background, and setting revealed. 2) Rising Action – Events in the story become complicated; the conflict is revealed. These are events between the introduction and climax. 3) Climax – Turning point of the story.