Which government agency is primarily responsible for controlling the transportation of hazardous waste?

Which government agency is primarily responsible for controlling the transportation of hazardous waste?

Hazardous wastes and hazardous substances are designated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

Is 5 a FEMA?

a: An Introduction to Hazardous Materials Answers. 6. The five phases of a hazardous material’s life does not include production, transportation, storage, elimination, and disposal. …

What liquids start a fire?

There’s likely a long list of flammable liquids in your home. Besides gasoline and lighter fluid, things like rubbing alcohol, nail polish remover, hand sanitizer and wart remover can easily catch fire.

What is a Class 1 flammable liquid?

Class I liquids are the most hazardous from a fire safety standpoint, while Class IIIB liquids are the least hazardous. Class IA liquids are liquids that have flash points below 73 °F (22.8 °C) and boiling points below 100 °F (37.8 °C). Additionally, unstable flammable liquids are treated as Class IA liquids.

How do you classify flammable liquids?

Flammable liquids have a flash point of less than 100°F. Liquids with lower flash points ignite easier. Combustible liquids have a flashpoint at or above 100°F. The vapor burns, not the liquid itself.

What does a flammability rating of 1 mean?


Who is legally responsible for evaluating chemicals and classifying the hazards?

Chemical manufacturers and importers

What are the 3 major changes to the Hazard Communication Standard?

What are the major changes to the Hazard Communication Standard? The three major areas of change are in hazard classification, labels, and safety data sheets (SDS).

What is the Hazcom rule?

1910.1200(f)(1) Labels on shipped containers. The chemical manufacturer, importer, or distributor shall ensure that each container of hazardous chemicals leaving the workplace is labeled, tagged, or marked. Hazards not otherwise classified do not have to be addressed on the container.

What is the pictogram for health hazard?

The health hazard pictogram is used for the following classes and categories: Respiratory or skin sensitization – Respiratory sensitizer (Category 1, 1A and 1B) Germ cell mutagenicity (Category 1, 1A, 1B and 2) Carcinogenicity (Category 1, 1A, 1B, and 2)

What are the 5 required elements of a hazard communication program?

These are the Five elements of the Hazard Communication Standard. They are: Chemical Inventory, Written Program, Labels, Material Safety Data Sheets, and Training.